J. Warner Wallace: who is responsible for explaining Christianity to your child?

On teaching your kids Christianity…

WINTERY KNIGHT

Here is a must-read post from J. Warner Wallace, author of “Cold Case Christianity“.

Excerpt:

It’s tempting to assign our responsibility as parents to others, especially when it comes to issues that require some expertise we don’t already possess. When my daughter was struggling with geometry, my first inclination was to hire a tutor, even though my architecture degree forced me through several layers of calculus and I was proficient at geometry at one time myself. Instead of hiring someone, my son and I worked through each question with my daughter. I took the time to relearn the material so I could teach it to her. It was a pain, but it was worth it. I love my daughter and I know my daughter’s learning style, her concerns and her personality. I can tell when she’s “getting it” and when she’s just pretending to get it. For this…

View original post 386 more words

2 thoughts on “J. Warner Wallace: who is responsible for explaining Christianity to your child?

  1. Teaching our own children is the right attitude to have. It is the parents’ responsibility to teach of God and His things to their family (Deuteronomy 4:9, Deuteronomy 11:19, Psalm 78:5). The other issue, though, is how do the parents get the correct teachings to pass on. Handing down the wrong teachings is just as harmful as not teaching at all.

    The church still needs to listen to servants and teachers who were anointed by God for the task and given the correct foundations of principles and Truth. It’s every Christian’s responsibility to recognize these people and the guidance they teach because God does not give everything to one person or “church.” We are to live on every Word of God (Deuteronomy 8:3). How can the Church do that when she does not listen to the whole Body of Christ? The hands cut off the foot and still expect to walk as God wishes.

    • Thank you for your comment. You sound as though you have been hurt by Christians who have rejected you or your message in the past. I am so sorry about that if that is what has happened. Pease forgive us all and keep speaking your message. Keep it simple and love us like Jesus did.
      Blessings
      Ambling

Leave a Reply

